J E R O  Y U N

He was born in Busan (Korea) in 1980. At the age of 13, he entered at Atelier of drawing and painting. After studying at Busan Design High school, he began to study classic Art at University in 1998. In 1999 during his travel to Italy, he discovered Europe and classic music by his sister, pianist.

In 2001, he arrived in France, continued his studies in Beaux-arts de Nancy (Fine Art school) and than, in ENSAD (Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris) where he learned classic cinema and documentary. In 2008, he entered at Le Fresnoy where he directed a Middle-length feature film "IN THE DARK" shooted in Korea and a short film "RED ROAD" selected in several international festivals : Molodist Kyiv, Interfilm Berlin, Bucharest, Amiens etc.

In 2009, fascinated by the desert, he traveled alone to Australia, and he made a short film in Super 8 : "ISLAND". A poetic film inspired by Wim Wenders, "Paris, Texas" (1984).

In 2011, he won the Grand Prize at Asiana International Short Film Festival (Korea) with his short film "PROMISE" selected also in festivals : Rio de Janeiro, Bilbao, Interfilm Berlin, Lussas, Amiens etc.

In 2012, he was selected for Cannes Film Festival Residency (Cinefondation). In there, he wrote feature film (fiction) projects. And he continued to write in Residency of Moulin d'Andé / CECI. His 1st documentary "LOOKING FOR NORTH KOREANS" awarded Special mention of Jury in Cinema Planeta (Mexico) in 2013 and selected in Hamburg Film Festival (Nominated Best Political Documentary) , Jihlava (Nominated Best World Documentary).

In 2013, he participated Taipei Factory organized by Directors' Fortnight of Cannes Film Festival and Taipei Film Commission. This omnibus movie including 4 short films which he directed one of films "THE PIG" with taiwanese co-director, presented in Directors' Fortnight, Busan IFF, Hongkong IFF 2013.

His documentary "MRS.B. A NORTH KOREAN WOMAN" coproduced by France and Korea, awarded Best Documentary in Moscow IFF and in Zurich Film Festival 2016, selected in ACID Cannes, Jeonju IFF, DMZ, RIDM 2016 and Goteborg, Osaka, Dok.fest Munich 2017. His last shot film "HITCHHIKER" financed by Ministry of Unification, awarded Best Director in KISFF 2017, selected in Directors' Fortnight, Cinema Forum Warsaw, Asiana 2016 and Tokyo Short Shorts, Prague, Regard / Saguenay 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FR

J E R O  Y U N

Il est né en 1980 à Busan, en Corée. A l'âge de 13 ans, il commence l'apprentissage académique du dessin et de la peinture. Après ses études au Lycée de Design de Busan, il entre, en 1998, dans une école d'Art et y étudie l'Art classique (Dessin, Peinture, Histoire de l'art, etc). En 1999, il séjourne 4 mois en Italie où il découvre la musique classique au travers de sa soeur, pianiste professionnelle.

En 2001, il arrive en France. Il poursuit ses études aux Beaux-arts de Nancy puis à l'ENSAD (Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts-Décoratifs de Paris) où il apprend le cinéma classique et le documentaire. En 2008, il entre au Fresnoy où il réalise un moyen métrage "IN THE DARK" tourné en Corée et un court-métrage "RED ROAD" sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals internationaux : Molodist Kyiv, Interfilm Berlin, Bucharest, Amiens etc.

En 2009, fasciné par le désert, il part seul en Australie, et y réalise un film en Super 8 : "ISLAND". Un film poètique, inspiré de Wim Wenders, "Paris, Texas" (1984).

En 2011, il gagne le Grand Prix à Asiana International Short Film Festival (Corée) avec son court-métrage "PROMESSE" sélectionné ainsi à Rio de Janeiro, Bilbao, Interfilm Berlin, Lussas, Amiens etc.

En 2012, il fait partie des 6 réalisateurs de la Résidence de Cannes (Cinéfondation). Il écrit ses projets de long-métrage fiction. Il continue ses écritures à la Résidence du Moulin d'Andé / CECI. Il gagne la mention spéciale du Jury au Cinema Planeta (Mexique) en 2013 avec son 1er documentaire "LOOKING FOR NORTH KOREANS" soutenu par l’Institut Français (Lauréat Louis Lumière), sélectionné à Hambourg Film Festival (nominé pour le meilleur film documentaire politique), Jilhava IDFF (nominé pour le meilleur film documentaire international).

En 2013, il co-réalise un court-métrage avec une réalisatrice taïwanaise "THE PIG" (dans l'omnibus Taipei Factory) sélectioné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs, Busan IFF, Hong kong IFF 2013.

Son documentaire "MADAME B, HISTOIRE D'UNE NORD-COREENNE" coproduit par la France et la Corée, gagne le meilleur film documentaire à Moscow International Film Festival et à Zurich Film Festival 2016. Ce film est également sélectionné à l'ACID Cannes, Jeonju IFF, RDIM, DMZ 2016 et Goteborg, Osaka, Dok.fest Munich 2017. Son dernier court-métrage "HITCHHIKER" financé par le Ministère de la Réunification gagne le Meilleur Réalisateur à KISFF 2017, sélectonné aussi à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs, Cinema Forum Varsovie, Asiana 2016 et Tokyo Short Shorts, Prague, Regard / Saguenay 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EN